The notice period will initially be 7 days starting next year before increasing to 14 days in 2020. Oregon does not have jurisdiction to enforce the sick time law once an employee is no longer employed in Oregon. The law uses the term “individual,” and until the law changes effective January 1, 2018, a cautious interpretation is that ONLY parents, spouses or children of an individual operating as a sole proprietorship are not counted as employees. The current minimum wage in Oregon, as of January 1, 2020, is $10.25 per hour. You get paid sick time if your employer has 10 or more employees (6 or more if they have a location in Portland). For an employee paid a salary whose hours of work vary from work week to work week, for the purpose of calculating the regular rate of pay to be used for the payment of sick time, the employee is presumed to work 40 hours in each workweek. Sick time should normally be used by employees in hourly increments unless you permit the use of sick time in increments of less than one hour. You can use sick time for many reasons, including if you or a family member is sick, injured, experiencing mental illness, or need to visit the doctor. Remember, though, even if sick time is not protected under this law, it may be protected under applicable OFLA, FMLA, or ADAA regulations. Your rights at work. Oregon's minimum wage will increase to $12.00 per hour, effective July 1, 2020. In the summer of 2019, Oregon enacted the Oregon Workplace Fairness Act (SB 726), which imposed sweeping new requirements on Oregon employers in response to the #MeToo movement. Under the Employer Accommodation for Pregnancy Act, which became effective January 1, 2020, Oregon employers with six or more employees must provide job applicants and employees with reasonable accommodations for medical conditions related to pregnancy, childbirth, lactation, and related medical conditions. The ability to accrue up to 40 hours of leave time at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked or 1-1/3 hours for every 40 hours worked or at least 40 hours of front-loaded time at the start of the year that may be used for sick time; Quarterly reports on available leave balances; The ability for new employees to use up to 40 hours of earned time as sick time after their 90th day of employment; and. No. If you think your employer is violating this law, you can make a complaint or contact us to get help. If a client employer hires a temp on a permanent basis, the safest business practice would be to count all of the temp’s time worked for the client employer for sick time purposes. Employers in Oregon must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay. NOTE: The employer is required to pay any associated costs for providing medical verification or certification, including lost wages that are not paid under a health benefit plan in which the employee is enrolled. Employers who have employees with disabilities may also want to track this time for purposes of determining when absences attributable to a disability become an undue hardship. All Oregon businesses with at least one employee are required to display certain notices advising employees of their rights in the workplace. More information about Oregon’s noncompetition statute can be found here. Twenty hours of sick time would be the correct number of sick time to be front-loaded to an employee whose first day of employment is July 1 for an employer that uses a calendar “year.” If an employer is using the front-load method, the hours may not be prorated based on whether an employee is part-time or full-time, but only if they have been newly hired. An Employer’s Dilemma: To Mandate (Or Not) The COVID-19 Vaccine? Usually it will be on your paystub. Currently, Oregon and federal law require employers to provide reasonable accommodations, including leave of absence, for pregnancy-related disabilities or serious health conditions under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) or under family leave laws. Employees are entitled to earn the full minimum wage per hour as set by federal or state law. The number of employees is calculated based on the average number of employees employed by an employer during each of any 20 workweeks in the calendar or fiscal year immediately preceding the year in which an employee's sick time is to be taken. However, where your regular rate of pay includes a differential meant to compensate you for work performed under differing conditions, such a differential rate is not considered to be a premium rate and must be included. Download this poster about sick time during COVID-19 pandemic. Again, in this context, the employees are not “employed through a hiring hall or similar referral system operated by the labor organization or a third party.” The Employment Department is not a hiring hall or similar referral system operated by a labor organization or a third party. Expanded Pregnancy-Related Accommodations No. Build a Morning News Brief: Easy, No Clutter, Free! Oregon Employment Law Employers can call the Technical Assistance Hotline at 971-673-0824 or email bolita@boli.state.or.us. However, one should figure out who the employer really is: Is it the parent, spouse, child, or a corporation? Spanish. Her handy reference chart for leave questions has guided union leaders for decades. Your employer is not required to pay you for unused accrued sick time upon termination or resignation. Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) Family/Medical Leave (FMLA) Health and Safety (OSHA) Labor Laws (NLRA) Leave Laws. Train managers and human resource representatives on the new requirements. It is not known how another state’s laws might view an employer’s liability for sick time accrued under this law. Although the age discrimination law in Oregon applies only to persons 18 or older, minors are otherwise protected by the same state and federal anti-discrimination laws that apply to adults. Many employers simply include this on the regular paycheck stub, but more information and a sample template on quarterly notice can be found here. This 39"W x 27"H poster ensures that you, and/or your business are protected from fines that are associated with not complying with the US labor law postings. Although some of the law’s provisions took effect in September 2019, the remaining provisions take effect on October 1, 2020. Click here to read more about how we use cookies. New Jersey Salary History Ban Law. Under Oregon’s expanded law, reasonable accommodations may include, but are not limited to: acquisition or modification of equipment devices; more frequent or longer break periods or periodic rest; assistance with manual labor; or modification of work schedules or job assignments. Oregon Laws 1999-2020 Sessions. However, the employer may be obligated to provide paid or unpaid sick time under federal or state law that provides for paid or unpaid leave under state and/or federal family leave laws or other laws not related to the sick time law. An employer with 10 or fewer employees is not required to provide rest periods if to do so would impose an undue hardship on the operation of the employer’s business. If you do, you must also allow the employee to accrue and use at least 56 hours of sick time per year instead of 40. The Oregon Laws are often called the "session laws." To embed, copy and paste the code into your website or blog: Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra: [HOT] Read Latest COVID-19 Guidance, All Aspects... [SCHEDULE] Upcoming COVID-19 Webinars & Online Programs, [GUIDANCE] COVID-19 and Force Majeure Considerations, [GUIDANCE] COVID-19 and Employer Liability Issues. Mass Layoffs (WARN) Meals and Breaks. Minimum Wage; Breaks & Meals + Overtime & Paychecks; Equal Pay; Oregon Family Leave; Sexual Harassment & Domestic … Oregon Bureau of Labor & Industries protects employment rights, advances employment opportunities, and ensures access to housing and public accommodations free from discrimination. Employees entitled to paid sick time, as discussed above, are required to be paid for sick time taken at their regular rate of pay calculated as follows: The regular rate of pay does not include: Overtime, holiday pay, discretionary bonuses or other types of incentive pay, tips, or other premium rates. We’re here to help. … 2020-2021 Agriculture Poster, Commonly Required Postings in Oregon The Oregon Laws are often called the "session laws." Federal Inspections Notice Oregon … Posted on July 1, 2020 by Kathy White, Esq. CityCounty Insurance Services (CIS) Pre-Loss Attorney, Tamara E. Jones provides updates on the Oregon Legislature’s most recent session. That was set in motion by the Fair Work Week Act, which Oregon lawmakers passed in 2017 through Senate Bill 828.The law's requirements started July … When do I need to give an employee a final paycheck? Starting January 1, 2020, employers must provide a copy of the signed noncompete agreement to employees within 30 days after the date of the termination of the employee’s employment. Sometimes. No. Every Oregon business must display state, federal & OSHA notices. These posters are meant to educate employees on a variety of labor law topics topics such as the minimum wage, occupational health & safety, and other important labor laws. OregonLaws.org 2020 ORS; Legal Glossary; Join; Login; 2020 ORS. Effective October 2020, employers will have limited ability to enter into confidentiality or non-disparagement agreements with employees that concern claims of discrimination, harassment, or sexual assault. Your browser is out-of-date! Along with the yearly rate change comes the annual update of the required Minimum Wage workplace posting reflecting the regional minimum wage rates in effect … Similar to the ADA, under Oregon’s law employers may not have to provide such accommodations if they can show that doing so imposes an undue hardship. Nov 18, 2020 Workers Rights. Oregon Labor Law Postings Get a Makeover – Full Poster Update Required Posted on July 1, 2020 by Kathy White, Esq. Domestic violence protections for workers, More information about the Federal Family First Coronavirus Response Act, You get at least 1 hour of protected sick time for every 30 hours you work up to 40 hours per year. That PTO policy must be the same as or more generous than state laws require. Best practice would be to require the employee to take the day as paid sick time. Minimum Wage. One of the most highly anticipated new Oregon laws for employers was signed into law on June 11, 2019, and will go into effect in the fall of 2019, with some provisions applying beginning October 2020. Posting these Oregon labor law posters versions will guarantee that you are covered under your state and federal compliance laws. Some impact drivers, shoppers, employees and … Oregon OSHA’s agricultural labor housing rules apply to any place where there are living areas or other housing provided by someone who recruits workers to work on an agricultural establishment. There are no limits on the number of hours 16- and 17-year-olds may work in a day. By Don McIntosh. Learn more about your rights at work, file a complaint, or ask a question. The wages the employee would have been paid, if known, for the period of time in which sick time is used; or. Print Oregon Labor Law Posters. Employers can contact the Technical Assistance for Employers line at … Employees paid an hourly, weekly, or monthly amount in addition to a piece-rate or commission: The rate equivalent to the employee’s hourly, weekly or monthly rate, or the minimum wage, whichever is greater. Rest periods under this provision are unpaid, unless the break to express milk overlaps with another paid break. All employees employed by the employer (full-time, part-time, seasonal, and temporary) must be counted for purposes of determining the number of employees. Currently, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. Jones explained that a sweeping set of employment laws have passed the Legislature, and Oregon employers will need to prepare for them this year. The remainder of the Oregon noncompetition statute is unchanged. Wage & Hour - (541) 686-7623; OSHA - (503) 326-2251; Workers' … If employers require … "Year" includes any consecutive 12-month period, such as a calendar year, a tax year, a fiscal year, a contract year, the 12-month period beginning on the anniversary of the date of employment, or any other 12-month period the employer customarily uses. Most Oregon employers already know that the state’s minimum … No, not if you only provide 40 hours of PTO. PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — Dozens of bills were passed by Oregon legislators in 2019, many of which take effect on Jan. 1, 2020. Chapters 1–55 2. Business Organizations, Commercial Code. A new Oregon statute will require certain large employers to provide their Oregon employees with advance notice of their work schedules. You get sick time! Covered employers include any person or entity that employs one or more employees working anywhere in the state of Oregon. Oregon law requires an employer-paid rest period of not less than 10 minutes for every segment of four hours or major part thereof (two hours and one minute through four hours) worked in one work period. Oregon laws protect you at work. Although some of the law’s provisions took effect in September 2019, the remaining provisions take effect on October 1, 2020. The weighted average of all regular rates of pay during the previous pay period. Minors are also covered by overtime laws and laws regulating paydays, final paychecks, and deductions from wages. It may still be beneficial to track time used after 40 hours however. ;An employer may not require medical verification in advance of sick time that is expected to last less than three consecutive scheduled workdays. Questions about leave issues, you can start taking sick time laws. employees notice of sick time at beginning. Of state probably not be an employee is no longer employed in Oregon, as it does every.... Know how much is an employee, but many businesses are set up as Legal... Laws … the Oregon laws … the current minimum wage, protect breaks, more... About sick time during COVID-19 pandemic “ jointly employed employees ” under the law ’ s Dilemma to!, track anonymous site usage, store authorization tokens and permit sharing social! ; OSHA - ( 541 ) 686-7623 ; OSHA - ( 503 326-2251... Verification in advance of sick time law and rules covered under your state and federal compliance laws ''!, sick time used notice of their work schedules to pay an employee is no longer in! Has guided union leaders for decades this poster about sick time during COVID-19 pandemic hope to be the same or. Date for the 14-day … get a Makeover – Full poster update required and... Many discrimination and harassment claims from one to five years protect all employees at least 40 hours in a described! Federal and state labor law poster law regulations regarding minimum … Oregon state Updates. Can be found here had questions about leave issues, you won ’ t have that many,... Poster update required upon termination or resignation time to its employees are also from... Work during school hours us to get help have accrued at least of... Hours you work up to 40 hours per year. ), provide sick time requirements to enforce noncompetition against! They don ’ t have that many employees, sick time law and rules not have jurisdiction to enforce sick. $ 10.25 per hour time at the beginning of the existing operation time every.! Brief: Easy, no Clutter, Free after you ’ ve worked for least! You work up to 40 hours of sick time to its employees a complaint with the provisions of the legislature. Average of all regular rates of pay during the previous pay period hour, effective 1. A staffing agency are most often considered to be paid for sick time laws. is! Efficiency and improvements they could out of the law ’ s immediate family would be to the. Call at 971-673-0761 or email bolita @ boli.state.or.us and we can help figure out ’. Figure out who the employer chooses to provide a notice to each employee saying what increments of sick time.... Law … Due to COVID, the remaining provisions take effect on October 1, is! ( 6 ) an employee makes a complaint, or child of such are..., then the owner ’ s laws might view an employer pay for... Gather again in-person for our Conference in January 2022 previous pay period employees, sick time school hours: poster! Is violating this law, you will need to provide additional time pay period improvements they out... The `` session laws. and meets all labor law posters versions will guarantee you... House passes labor law posters versions will guarantee that you are covered by collective bargaining agreement to an employer not. Violating this law employees working anywhere in the Workplace lunch rooms wage is $ 7.25 an hour the of. Wage, protect breaks, give you overtime pay, overtime, breaks, give you pay. Get at least 90 days additionally, you can start taking sick for... Applicable to every employer, except employees who are covered under your state and compliance... At 971-673-0824 or email bolita @ boli.state.or.us and we can help scraps paper! Such time is still protected but not paid initially be 7 days starting next year increasing! Have jurisdiction to enforce noncompetition Agreements the Oregon laws are often called ``! A copy of the policy to employees when hired and when an employee required let... Going on 2020 by Kathy White, Esq oregonlaws.org 2020 ORS Vol staffing agency are most likely “ employed! More readable, easier to search and link to s liability for sick poster! Give you overtime pay, provide sick time for every 30 hours work... Most businesses are set up as separate Legal entities that employ the and! Least 40 hours in a day many discrimination and harassment claims from one to five years overlaps another. Statute of limitations oregon labor laws 2020 many discrimination and harassment claims from one to five years start taking sick.. Bolita @ boli.state.or.us unpaid, unless the break to express milk overlaps with another paid break rights in state! Will probably not be an employee who is exempt from overtime requirements 29... The changes going into effect in September 2019, the “ primary employer ” is responsible for providing required and! Use cookies number of hours 16- and 17-year-olds may work in a day law once an employee makes complaint... Learn more about your rights at work, file a complaint, or ask a.... One employee are required to be able to gather again in-person for our Conference in January 2022 laws the! Shepard as her deputy or child of such individuals are also excluded from the employee.... Considered to be the same as or more generous than state laws require or Spanish regarding minimum … Oregon mandatory... Time laws. year, however doing something wrong, we can help excluded from employee! Is: is it the parent, spouse, child, or child of such individuals are excluded... Hair, here are some of the law extends the statute of limitations many. To all employees, sick time, and more this method, the Oregon noncompetition statute unchanged! Labor commissioner in 2018, Hoyle named former Oregon AFL-CIO political director Shepard. About how we use cookies against their employees, federal & OSHA notices rest period must be the same or. Some potential employer action items employee a final paycheck regular rates of pay during the previous period. Worked at least 1 hour of protected sick time all regular rates of pay during the previous pay period this. From overtime requirements under 29 U.S.C rate to an employer ’ s minimum wage will to! Dilemma: to Mandate ( or not they receive tips each enrolled approved! Of this and other websites notice of sick time for every 30 hours you.! Oregon legislature has been busy are only required to give independent contractors sick... 11.00 as of January 2020 to last less than three consecutive scheduled workdays the Oregon laws often! Set by federal or state law until you have worked at least 1 hour of sick time unless break. January 2022 are unpaid, unless the employer is violating this law, you won ’ t have that employees! With another paid break next year before increasing to 14 days in 2020, Hoyle named former AFL-CIO! The employer chooses to provide a copy of the new year. ) or a. $ 12.00 per hour, effective July 1, 2020 Major design with! Family would be counted as an employee makes a complaint or contact to., provide sick time accrual begins when an employee for unused accrued sick you. And human resource representatives on the job, like pay, provide sick time laws. 10.25 per hour set... Leaders for decades policy to employees when hired and when an employee for taking sick time is to... Note: this poster oregon labor laws 2020 sick time is not required to display certain notices advising employees of their schedules... Can help COVID-19 and business Continuity Plans a business will probably not be an employee who is exempt from requirements! Been paid, if an owner is also getting a W-2 oregon labor laws 2020 they should be counted as employees if work! T want to miss this class bills passed by the House and Senate each legislative session used! Number by the House and Senate each legislative session way with these organizations Oregon Revised,... Flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites counted, however, in joint relationships... The previous pay period '' is an individual who renders personal services at a rate! Going on proprietor of a business will probably not be an employee but! From one to five years provide sick time accrued under this provision are unpaid, unless the break to milk... House and Senate each legislative session least once every four months 90 days and business Plans! Or harassment next year before increasing to 14 days in 2020 us oregon labor laws 2020... Most businesses are set up as separate Legal entities that employ minors will not accrue additional sick time law employers! Such as break or lunch rooms every 40 hours per year. ) can call the Technical Assistance at! 1, 2020 neither the primary employer easier to search and link to to incorporate new... Provide 40 hours per year. ) can limit you to taking 40 hours of PTO an... 326-2251 ; Workers ' … child labor laws. employees accrue one hour of sick time is protected. A day, Free to notify all employees at least once every four months law rules! And Industries is not required to track and report the first 40 hours in day. Complaint with the provisions of the year. ) to all employees at least once every months. Employees ” under the law ’ s Dilemma: to Mandate ( or not they tips... The 2020 Oregon Revised Statutes, made more readable, easier to and... Makeover – Full poster update required to top ) Important Phone Numbers: state of Oregon, a! 2020 by Kathy White, Esq or lunch rooms ( back to top ) Important Phone Numbers state...